Top 5 Greatest Concerts I’ve Ever Seen List

Before I start this post, I wanted to thank everyone that has stopped by my blog. Since its inception, we’ve hit close to 500 views, which is more than I expected this early! This is just a fun hobby of mine, and I’m glad others have enjoyed my blog as well. So I wanted to thank everyone who has taken a few minutes out of their day to read this blog. I would love your continued support, so please visit my Twitter account (@kenoalbumreview) and follow.

Now, in my last post, I mentioned my “Top 5 Greatest Concerts I’ve Ever Seen” list. After posting, I pondered on which concerts would round out my top 5. I’ve decided to share with you all my list in no particular order. Enjoy!

Silversun Pickups Soma San Diego

Silversun Pickups was mentioned in my last post as being in my top 5 list. I loved this concert because of the changing colors and clear, crisp sound coming from the stage. For those who haven’t been to Soma, the venue is very small, and considered an “intimate” venue for bigger bands that come to San Diego. Brian Aubert leads the band with a lively, extravagant stage persona. When I saw this band with my good friend Andrew, he noticed the attention bassist Nikki Monninger got from the crowd with her shy personality, and considered her as the crowd favorite. Each member of the band brings their own personality, and adds an element of awesomeness to each of their live performances.

Dream Theater Fox Performing Arts Center

Dream Theater is a band that I’ve wanted to see for several years, but didn’t have the chance to see until earlier this year. Performing in Riverside, I was surprised at the turnout. Being so close to Los Angeles, I thought doing a small venue in a small town would hurt Dream Theater’s schedule. Boy, was I wrong. The venue was completely sold out! In fact, it made the show better; The crowd was lively, over-the top, and singing along to every song they played. The stage performance of each member, along with the lights, lasers, humor, and videos makes this a band to listen and watch live.

The Mars Volta – Soma San Diego

The Mars Volta never fails to amaze. Just ask me; I’ve seen them seven times in four different venues. In promotion of their album “Bedlam in Goliath”, I have never seen a crowd as wild as I saw in that show. Each member of the band has a different responsibility for each song. I use the word “responsibility” due to Omar Rodriguez-Lopez’s role as conductor and director during their live performances. Despite Rodriguez-Lopez’s direction, he could never tame Cedric Bixler-Zavala, who jumped off of amps, ran around on stage, and poured water onto the drum set to create a “Blue Man Group”-like effect. I love the unique atmosphere that The Mars Volta brought to this concert. Building off the crowd, each member didn’t miss a beat, and played their best performance in my opinion.

Porcupine Tree – 4th & B

Good ol’ 4th and B. Despite their closure, this venue has brought some good concerts. Several years ago, I had the opportunity to see Porcupine Tree play in San Diego, a band that has yet to return. Due to their European presence and popularity, this band rarely has the chance to come to the United States, let alone San Diego. I remember before the concert, I had a discussion with an older fan in the crowd. He had mentioned that the drummer was the best live drummer he’d ever seen. Never fully paying attention to the drums on each of their albums, I purposely focused on the drummer Gavin Harrison the whole concert. Whoever you are, I want to thank that man in that crowd for the tip. I fully agree that Gavin Harrison performed the best live set I’ve ever seen from a drummer. This fascination has led me to find further albums featuring Harrison, and may be future posed on my blog.

Coheed and Cambria House of Blues San Diego

As the saying goes, save the best for last. I may sound a little bias, but Coheed and Cambria is the best rock band on the face of this Earth. No exceptions. No rebuttals. No if’s, and’s, or but’s. The only band I’ve seen more than The Mars Volta, Coheed and Cambria delivers on point in every category of rock. I could write forever on this band, but I just want to say that their “Neverender: Second Stage Turbine Blade” performance was their greatest of all their live performances. Three sets, spinning turbine blades on stage, and one awesome hair-do. Need I say more? This band will definitely be featured in future posts.

There you have it, my “Top 5 Greatest Concerts I’ve Ever Seen” list. This list is subject to change of course as I see more and more concerts.

Before I go, I wanted to let everyone know that I will be away from a computer for the weekend, so a new post will be coming to you Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Greatest Concerts I’ve Ever Seen List

Leave a Reply

