The First Annual Keno Awards – Nominees

Hey everyone! I was bored one day while watching the Critic’s Choice Awards, and I thought in the spirit of award season I would create my own awards. So, here it is: The First Annual Keno Awards! I’ve decided on three categories with six nominees each, all contenders being albums or bands that I have reviewed on my blog. Without further ado, here are the categories:

Best Rock Albums of 2014

“Replacements” – Hibernal
“Countenance” – The Mercury Tree
“Phases” – Eden Shadow
“Through Art We Are All Equals” – Slaves
“Hitchhiking to Byzantium” – Anubis
“Aphelion” – State of Illusion

Each of these albums have stood out as great rock albums. Whether because of amazing vocals, guitar solos, or drum beats, these albums are the best of the best from my blog. Check them out and sound off below who you think should win.

Best Metal Albums of 2014

“Sound of Majestic Colors” – Fire Garden
“Once More ‘Round the Sun” – Mastodon
“Restoration” – Haken
“Curve” – Miroist
“Nebulae” – Hemina
“Maps of Non-Existent Places” – Thank You Scientist

Again, these are what I believe are the best metal albums on my blog. Check them out and tell me who you think should win.

Best Musicians of 2014

Jim Grey (vocals) – Caligula’s Horse
Richard Henshall (guitar) – Haken
Tom Monda (guitar) – Thank You Scientist
Tom Burgress (drums/synths) – Eden Shadow
Jonny Craig (vocals) – Slaves
Dave Turncrantz (drums) – Russian Circles

I have determined these individual musicians to be the best of the best in their bands. Listen to each of them, admire them, and sound off below!

Best Find of 2014

??? – ???

I’m keeping this one a secret that I’ll reveal when I announce the winners. The winner of this category is the album that I had never heard of before I reviewed them, yet cannot stop playing them. You can let me know what your greatest find is below.

music_live_concert_desktop_1920x1080_hd-wallpaper-1111325

So there you have it: the nominees for the first ever Keno Awards. I’ll reveal the winners next week. Tell me who should win!

Update: Be sure to check out the winners here!

8 thoughts on “The First Annual Keno Awards – Nominees

  1. […] I highly recommend this album to those who love any form of progressive music. The influences of key bands in the progressive rock and metal industry are clear in this album, but Fire Garden is not afraid to differentiate from them. Their sound is a tip of the cap to those in the past and present, but is also a fearless step forward into uncharted waters. Please support “Sound of Majestic Colors” by Fire Garden! […]

    Like

  2. […] with fans of the bands Kamelot, Haken, Caligula’s Horse, and Ayreon, I highly recommend “Nebulae by Hemina! Please check out their Bandcamp page, containing this newly released album that is not available […]

    Like

  3. […] other instrumental metal bands, or those in need of some awesome background music. Please support Miroist by visiting their Bandcamp page and purchasing their newest album! Note: This album is available for […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

